The Spectacle: Quartzsite in the Eyes of a Newbie

Looking Sout at La Posa West LTVA
Looking Sout at La Posa West LTVA

Quartzsite, for those of you that may not know, is a little town in southwestern Arizona. Among other things it is home to an RV show that takes place about the middle of January for some 10 days.

From the home page of the show’s web site: “Every January something happens that is hard to believe, unless you have seen it! According to the Arizona Highway Department, as many as 750,000 to 1,000,000 people, mostly in RV’s, converge on this sleepy little desert town, located just 20 miles east of the California border on Interstate 10, for the rock, gem and mineral shows, plus numerous flea markets and the Quartzsite Sports, Vacation & RV Show. This phenomenon started over 40 years ago and is now billed as “The Largest Gathering Of RVers in the World”…” I couldn’t have said it better myself. That’s why I quoted the show’s site! Ha! READ MORE…

4 thoughts on “The Spectacle: Quartzsite in the Eyes of a Newbie”

  1. So nice to read about it from a first timers point of view. Seems like almost every RV blog I read – that is where they are. Not sure I could deal with the crowds but it does seem like it would be fun to be with so many like minded souls (and poke through their “junk”) LOL.

    1. Well, there sure were a lot of RVers here. A lot have cleared out since the show ended but make no mistake, there are still a lot around. I imagine that some are here for the season while others shorter periods but that they are still around. Some I’m sure are just passing through and others will come and go as time passes.

      I never felt crowded-in here, even during the show, and although there were crowds of people in the Big Tent and everywhere else the only place I saw a line that I wouldn’t want to stand in was the ice cream booth.

      I wanted to see “The Spectacle” (the RV show) once for myself, plus I wanted/want to winter in this area, so here I am. I expect to head to Yuma soon. Still waiting for that desert sun and warmth. Yesterday it rained all day and today so far it’s gray.

  2. I hear it is supposed to start getting nicer there. It is probably as warm here right now as there – haha! We had 60 yesterday. Might have to put Q on the list for someday and I can totally understand why the ice cream line would be long! LOL

Leave a Reply

