Photo Post: Arizona Skies

February Sunrise: Imperial Dam LTVA
Man oh man! I’m going to hate to leave this place and I’ll be coming back if for no other reason than to see the sunsets and sunrises. This is a completely unaltered photo from a sunrise the other day. HOLY COW!

The skies of the desert here in Arizona are friggin’ amazing! Sunset after sunrise  after sunset after sunrise. They just keep coming and I’ll be coming back just for the joy of seeing them!

BW Sunset: Imperial Dam LTVA
I tell ya… the skies here in Arizona are just the best! The reason I’m showing this sunset in black ad white is that I just could not come close to doing it justice in color!
13 thoughts on “Photo Post: Arizona Skies”

  1. The desert does provide the BEST sunsets. We just returned to the Phoenix Valley and I’m hoping to take in my fair share of stunning sunsets along with what will hopefully be a great showing of wildflowers in the weeks to come.

    1. Hey Russ and Ingrid – I’m heading to southern California deserts next week in search of wildflowers – and perhaps out to Arizona -depending on reports. Let me know if you see anything wonderful.

      1. It’s a little early here. There are a few things starting to show. I don’t think this area gets carpeted in the manner of Death Valley, for example. I’d give the Rangers there a call. I think they post a flower report on ther web site. You might also think about the poppy preserve near Antelope Valley. If you go there also look outside the preserve on the other side (north?) of the hill.

  2. Unbelievably beautiful and breathtaking. [edit] What a miracle in the sky! It reminds me of a Yosemite rockclimber’s comment one one of the sunsets there: “What the hell have we ever done to deserve this” Very simply put but sums up the overpowering feeling of witnessing such beauty. I hope you get to go back there often!
    Continue to enjoy and share. Thanks!

  3. Can’t help but add my 2 cents worth to the wildflower conversation because they have been my best loved flowers since childhood! Growing up amidst alpine wildflowers, playing with them-making crowns, bracelettes and bouquets, always admiring their simplicity and beauty that touches the heart-and so fragile, sometimes growing -more like clinging-to a cliff and shaking(more like a tremor) in the breeze. They are so open to be in the wild-unafraid and trusting, surviving all weathers and conditions. When you speak of dessert wildflower which I have never seen except at the Oakland Museum for their spectacular 4 day showing I can just imagine their beauty and variety (as seen in the poster of one of your other blogs) very cool! The blooming in the dessert, such an inhospitable environment is even more miraculous and life affirming than any other plant-and so precious! To think of how many centuries of adaptations to survive and grow and blossom! The Suaro cacti growing into a huge tree- all sorts of shrubs and plants that make the dessert their home, I find that very life affirming and admire the life force that brings out these plants and shows off their beauty every so often for us to enjoy and be inspired.-feast our eyes on their beauty. Enjoy, enjoy and send lots of photos for the rest of us. : )

    1. What a lovely, sensitive and thoughtful comment about wildflowers. Thank you.

      Yes, life can be tenacious, and beautiful, delicate things things such as these can amaze with both their beauty and tenacity. More than once while hiking in the remote back country of the high Sierras in California, at elevations of 10,000′ or more, I’ve come across a handful of beautiful white columbines growing in the shade of a huge boulder in steep rocky ravines.

      I suppose there have been many similar occurrences to which I’ve borne witness. Just today a group of us went hiking through the rocky desert. We came across many, happy beavertail cactus in full bloom, showing off their bright purpley-pink flowers. How they manage to survive out here…

        1. It’s a big desert out here. I think, depending upon how much off trail wandering you’re willing to do, that a person could explore the area over many seasons and still have more to see.

          There’s an area in the high Sierras I’ve returned to many times. I’m sometimes concerned about running out of places to day hike but I aways seem to find something new. Plus, there’s nothing wrong with doing the same hike more than once.

          1. So true-so true! Even if nothing else changes-we do. We are never the exact same every day and so will perceive,feel,notice-experience our surroundings differently. Perhaps even a little more deeply when we revisit a favorite place in nature or city or country. Continued happy hiking! Lol : )

Leave a Reply

